The Little Things

Lines

I’ve decided to start utilizing this as my personal blog once again, since I was being terrible about posting regularly on photoSynthetique.com. That site has once again reverted to being a photoblog.

*******************************

“Sometimes I have to list out these accomplishments to remind myself to focus on all the little good things instead of the little bad things.”

A quote from this post by my friend Maranda Bingen.

 

A very true statement. It can be so hard to stop and pay attention to all of good things happening in life, especially if you’re like me and you’ve decided that 2012 is the year that you start heaping things on to your own plate. If you’ve not been around me recently, I am now registered to begin teaching photography as a part of the Continuing Adult Education Classes at North High School starting in April! Teaching is something that I’ve always felt that I would likely be pretty good at doing. I have the patience, I love helping others develop their skills and I could seriously talk about photography for several hours every day. It’s something I’m extremely excited about!

 

In addition, many of you might be familiar with The Libertine Asylum, the artist organization that I’ve been a member of for the last three years. Well, after having met a lot of fantastic people (many of whom I am happy to now count amongst my good friends), making a lot of really great contacts in several different industries and learning the ins and outs of hosting some amazing nightclub events, I have decided to step up and help the Asylum plan for the future! As of last week, I am now the “Lord General” of the Libertine Asylum, a title that I decided upon after weeks of deliberation based on the fact that it both implies leadership and has the right level of pretentious artsy-ness to it that says that I’m not just some boring CEO. As Lord General, I will be directly responsible for organizing our group and providing a strong central vision for what we are doing. That said, it is still a group of amazing artists and thus most of our activities will still be a collective effort, so I can not even begin to claim sole credit for what we do. My primary responsibilities are to ensure that someone can crack the whip when necessary so that things get done when they’re supposed to and to resolve disputes. We will also be expanding our mission from that of a “Fashion Collective” to an “Artist Advocacy Group”. With that, I hope to see a much larger number of Members from all walks of life, all art disciplines as well as different businesses that would like to work with artists. I think it’s going to be a big year for the Libertine Asylum!

 

Inara as "St. Patty's Day Queen".

It’s been a great month, family-wise as well. Next week we get Inara for 10 days straight, which will be the second time in 2012 already, so we have some fun stuff planned. She had her Winter quarter parent teacher conferences last week and I couldn’t possibly be more proud of her. She’s doing fantastically in academics and she has really come out of her social shell. At the beginning of the year, she was painfully shy and had troubles interacting with the other kids but she has opened up greatly over the winter and has a group of regular friends at school now. Each school day, one kid gets to be the teachers’ helper and all of them get really excited to be the one chosen so every morning would start with the kids asking the teacher who would be the helper that day before even bothering to greet her. Inara took it upon herself to start saying “Good morning Ms. Ashley, how are you today?” at the beginning of each class and her polite example prompted many of the other kids to start doing the same. When I heard that, I couldn’t help but be incredibly pleased with how she is progressing. I’m still not looking forward to her teenage years though, as she is very adamant about always doing things her own way and she is terribly stubborn. We will weather it though, and I’m confident that she is on the road to being a wonderful individual.

 

::Drayke

 

Thought of the Day:

If you do not change your beliefs, your life will always be like this.

2 thoughts on “The Little Things

  1. Wow! I knew about teaching but not about your new position, oh, Lord General. ::bows:: I picture you in a solicitor’s wig. Could you get one? Please? Congrats on your new jobs and on Inara’s awesomeness!

    • See, I was imagining more of a military uniform with ridiculous epaulets, those weird decorative ropes that go across the chest and a big cape! I would totally turn quickly so that it swept around me constantly. 😀

      And thank you! I’m super excited about all the upcoming changes!

Leave a Reply

